h1

Ken Thompson

July 12, 2012

Ken Thompson

 

Debbie told me about this pastor at a Southern Baptist church in Austin from the day I met her. So when we first visited Austin, driving that long Lampassas road overnight from Lubbock, we went out to Walnut Creek Baptist Church which at that time was way out north of Austin. Now it seems like center city.

 

Ken Thompson was an instant favorite. A bit of an early sixties horn rimmed sharp dressing throwback kind of guy who quickly disarmed anyone with a huge smile and oozing with friendship. We visited at his office in the tiny church building and agreed soon afterward that he would be the one to marry us.

 

Ken was a God send for me because I was at a time in my life that was very critical yet I had few men in my life. He was practical with us and considering our path, he was forgiving and kind.

 

We never really got any pre-marital counsel and it was a rough go. Once I was ready to throw in the towel and we headed off for Austin to find Ken. Fortunately that road to Austin is a looooooong empty one and we had some time to talk. About an hour out of Lubbock we turned back and settled for a phone call to him which was very helpful. He not only talked me off the cliff but then got us through a very meaningful ceremony.

 

Walnut Creek is not an earth famous church and Ken Thompson is not a known pastor. But he made a difference in our lives and it is men like this that truly providing the fabric reinforcement for the kingdom of God.

Leave a comment